Reviews, skincare
Comments 14

Mandelic Acid Peel Review Part 2

Mandelic acid Review

Part 2: MUAC Mandelic Acid Peel REVIEW

Sorry for the long wait, but here is my review of the highly effective, Mandelic Acid Peel…

You can read my MANDELIC ACID TONER REVIEW here

The Website States…

What is Mandelic Acid?

Mandelic Acid is an alpha hydroxy acid.  Derived from bitter almonds, it has a number of benefits for the skin.

The molecular structure of mandelic acid is larger than better known alpha hydroxy acids such as glycolic acid and lactic acid.  This means it takes longer to penetrate the skin’s surface and is much less irritating.

Benefits

–Rapidly exfoliates dead skin cells and surface debris from the skin.
–Mandelic acid has antimicrobial/antibacterial properties, making it an excellent choice for all types of acne, including cystic acne.
–Loosens blackheads for easy extraction.
–Mandelic acid is excellent for clients with darker skin tones.  It does not cause the unwanted, lighter skin tone changes that you might experience with other AHA’s.
–Mandelic acid inhibits the growth of melanin, the cause of brown patches, freckles, uneven skin tone and other sun-related skin care issues.
–Mandelic acid, with continued use, can help repair sun damaged skin.
–Mandelic acid reduces lines and wrinkles without the irritation of other AHA’s.
–Mandelic is typically an excellent exfoliator for clients suffering from Rosacea.
General Cautions:
  • Never use manual exfoliators nor scrubbing brushes within 24 hours of using a peel.
  • Stop Retin A, benzoyl peroxides, acne products and any other drying agents 24 hours before and after using an alpha hydroxy or beta hydroxy peel.
  • If you are allergic to aspirin products, never use a salicylic acid nor beta hydroxy peel.
  • Never apply a peel without doing a patch-test first and waiting 48 hours for results.
  • Never apply a chemical peel to inflamed skin.
  • Always read product directions in their entirety and don’t take shortcuts.
  • Use our BellEvolve Advanced Repair Cream for skin that has been chemically over processed.  It contains advanced healing agents that will quickly get your skin back to normal.
  • When in doubt about a caution, please write or call us for more information.
mandelic acid

Great Reviews on Makeupalley !

My Thoughts..

This is definitely a step up from the Toner. I remember when I first used this product, I was just so scared because of all the warnings; since it was my first time using a peel I was very careful. I read stories about people burning their faces off (not anything crazy.. just a little), so I did a patch test first and everything worked out fine.

I used this every two weeks in the beginning, by applying it with a cotton ball. Initial Response: It BURNED alot. In the beginning, I couldn’t take it and would wash it off after a few minutes; then I moisturized the living hell out of my skin. The next day, my skin looked a lot smoother and more pale (I like that). I used this in conjuction with the toner and it works perfectly fine for me, everyone’s skin is different. After my skin became used to it, I would use it every week, then finally every four days. I would only leave it on for about 10 minutes, then quickly rinse it off thorougly and moisturize.

You do find that your skin becomes dry after using this product, but using a good moisturizer will help with that. I love it, and you can see the results faster than using just the toner alone. Of course, that’s because it is very powerful, but rest assured it is one of the gentle peels from MUAC. I don’t buy it anymore because after finishing up a bottle of it, I think using the toner is easier and requires less work. 

Less work? Well, I’m just too lazy to set my alarm and walk around the house for about ten minutes while waiting for it to work its magic. Also, it does burn and you have to make sure you get every little bit off… but that’s just me. After using one bottle, it worked its magic and now I’m just using the toner.

Overall, It works! But make sure you read all the directions and be very careful if this is your first time using a peel.

Results appear faster since it is stronger. One bottle is enough as it lasts a long time since you are basically only using the peel once a week, or even twice a week if you have sensitive skin.

Don’t forget to wear sunscreen when you use this product or any other strong medication!!!

Click here to read about my favorite sunscreen!

 

Read about the other Products in the Mandelic Acid Line!

 Mandelic Acid SERUM. – Strong and super effective!

Mandelic Acid Toner – Perfect for everyday use!

14 Comments

  1. Selina says

    I’ve been looking into this! What is your skin type? I was recommended this treatment from my local clinic. However for 4 peels it will cost over 600 pounds in the uk which is alot amd I’m a student 😦

    Is this good for scarring? I have dark spots and uneven tone after severe eczema breakouts in the past.

    Thanks for the post, really helpful!

    • Hi Selina! Yes, I really like it. My skin is very oily and prone to breakouts. I think it really helps, thanks to MUAC I don’t need to go to a derm. For this, I would apply with a cotton ball and wait about 5 minutes (the first time). It stings… but you will get used to it. Also, be sure to completely wash it off!

      If you would like other information on it, please read these reviews here 🙂

      http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=140339/25-Mandelic-Acid-Peel/Makeup-Artist-s-Choice-(MUAC)-/Masks

      Hope that helps!

      – Diana

      • Selina says

        Sounds great! How long before you notice improvement? And do you use the mandelic peel alpine from the MUAC line? Thanks 🙂 I’m ordering from the UK and I’ve heard postage is expensive so best to buy in one go!

        Thanks for the tips

      • 🙂 I love it so much that I just bought the mandelic acid cleanser and serum! so I def recommend it. I’d say I noticed improvement in three weeks but I was using the toner at the same time. I’ve only bought the peel twice but I’ve been using the toner for a year 🙂

      • Selina says

        Sounds good 🙂 what has it specifically helped you with?

      • I have really oily skin so I love the fact that my skin peels with it. So you would need a good exfoliator for that part. Your skin will sting but trust me its working lol, because your skin is basically peeling you’ll see reduced dark spots (I have lots of hyper pigmentation), and your pores will seem smaller, overall my face is a lot more smooth and glows more.

        If you can, try to get the Mandelic acid peel & the toner. The peel is good for once a week or two times within ten days. But, the toner I love because I just use a basic cleanser, apply the toner, moisturize and then I’m set! Since I use the toner everyday, it exfoliates my skin (but gently).

        Also don’t forget to check out the daily deals (I got 25% off last time using the code) and if there aren’t any good daily deals look around the web (I usually find the FREE SHIPPING code).

        I’ll be uploading a review on the cleanser and serum (I really like the serum). So if the peel and toner work out well for you then try the serum.

      • Selina says

        Sounds great. Thanks for answering ask my questions! Lol. A skin clinic was trying to charge me 600 got 4 peels so this is definitely a cheaper option, just glad it works. Hyperpigmentation is my main issue so glad it’s helped yours. Look forward to your future reviews 🙂 I’ll update once I’ve tried too 🙂

      • glad I could help 🙂 Okay! Don’t forget the sunscreen since your skin will be pretty sensitive after using the peel. Hopefully it works for you and I look forward to reading your review on it 🙂

      • Selina says

        Yeah. I use spf 30 and spf in my make up. Skin is just so unbalanced at the moment I want it to clear! I had eczema now it’s done a 180 to spots! And mandelic seems great for sensitive types. fingers crossed l. I was thinking toner or serum to buy. But perhaps toner is best to start?

      • yes I recommend the toner, so your skin can start getting used to it. the toner is also a lot less expensive (just in case you end up not liking it). The serum is only 1 oz and quite pricey.

  2. Selina says

    I’m worried about home use so any tips would be helpful. Thank you 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mandelic Acid Serum Review! | dianasadventures

  4. Pingback: My Acne Story | dianasadventures

Leave a Reply

