Fitness, Life
Leave a Comment

Things I need to start doing..

20s

When I had a job… I would spend all my money on food. Why not clothes? Well, I was already gaining weight and nothing looked nice on me… so I made myself a promise that I wouldn’t spend money on clothes until I got skinnier. But I digress, the 20’s are a time where some forget to take care of their skin, such as putting on sunscreen everyday (especially on your neck), finding some classes that will help you (1/4 college women will be victims of attempted rape), and classes that will help you improve your posture, along with many others.

1. Never too early for eyecream.

I took a note from Jenn Im and Michelle Phan, start applying your eyecream at an early age. I decided to look up Clinique’s eyecream because Clinique is a brand that is trusted and affordable! Luckily, I don’t have to battle dark circles and having oily skin helps with wrinkles…. but some things you do need help with.

eye cream

2. Yoga classes

th

I have horrible posture, and can’t even reach my toes. I blame it on scoliosis but I do feel that yoga can help me in many ways. Yoga helps relieve stress and improves posture. It is also offered at my school for free, and in four years of attending college- I’ve only gone to one free fitness class (last week).

3. Muay Thai / Martial Arts

self-defense-moves_fa_rszd

As a purple belt in taekwondo, Muay thai stands out to me. Taekwondo focuses more on using your legs rather than your arms and elbows. Muay Thai is ” characterized by the combined use of fists, elbows, knees, shins and feet” and called the art of “8 limbs”. It’s been years since I’ve practiced martial arts and I know that it will come in handy one day. Being able to protect yourself in times of danger is very important, sometimes we freeze up and are too shocked to do anything. There are classes at my school also. Typically, prices range anywhere from 60 dollars a month to 120 at private schools. I prefer somewhere private where there will be the same group of students every day at the same time, rather than jumping in a course and not learning from the basics.

th (1)

4. Spa Treatments

Instead of spending money on clothing or food, I need to spend on it on my skin. Your skin is the first thing people see, and as someone who has highly problematic skin – I really want to try microdermabrasion, microdermabrasion promises to exfoliate your skin and remove the outer layer of your skin. This can lead to improving dark spots and lightening scars. Don’t worry, there is really no down time for this treatment, your skin will be red afterwards but you wouldn’t need to take off any days and its less strong than other peels out there. After browsing around yelp, the prices of microdermabrasion range from 85-120 dollars. I found a place that does it for 85 dollars and has 5/5 stars on yelp!

5. Sunscreen Everywhere (especially on your neck)

I am an avid user of sunscreen, I apply my Shiseido practically everyday but lately I have been forgetting. But, just because the sun isn’t out doesn’t mean that we don’t need to apply sunscreen! The areas that people forget about the most is the neck area so make sure you don’t forget; we often see people with such a youthful face but have saggy skin around their necks…. now you know why!

122807_shiseido_a-2

Leave a Reply

