Life
Comments 4

How Low Self Esteem Hurts You More Than You Think

low self esteem

This list is partly for me, and partly for everyone else who needs to be a little more confident. When a person is confident, they really shine in everything they do. Everything in this list has applied to me – either one way or another. Click below to read more.

 

1) Your relationship suffers.

When you have low self esteem, you are constantly worried about someone who is “better” than you taking away your boyfriend or even friends. You start to become jealous over silly things because you’re too insecure in your own relationship. Know that the person you are with chose you not only because they are attracted to you, but also the connection you two have together. Everyone can have a physical spark but not everyone can have that emotional connection. 

tumblr_n2g2cnKtIl1spmej1o1_500

2) You think people are constantly judging you.

tumblr_n24txwK0vM1tvn28eo1_400

Happens to me all the time. If someone takes too long to respond to me or doesn’t answer me at all- I automatically assume they hate me. I remember this one time I was walking to class and these group of people behind me were laughing, for some weird reason I automatically assumed they were laughing at me. It seems so ridiculous now, but at that time I felt embarassed and really uncomfortable. Live for yourself and don’t let anyone control your life. 

3) You put yourself down.
tumblr_myee4iJjyV1rcijn9o1_500

You begin to agree with what people tell you whether it’s good or bad. Even if that person is acting out of line, you think to yourself, “Well… yea I guess they are right, I deserve what they’re saying to me or about me.” That is not the case.  Be proud of who you are and know that people who put you down have their own insecurities.

tumblr_mykn06XQkm1t3ryk7o1_500

When you put yourself down, you don’t think of yourself as someone who is important.  Even in school you will suffer, I hated group projects because I hated voicing my opinions. I honestly thought no one would care about what I had to say.

4) You don’t take advantage of opportunities.

You start to doubt yourself and this in turn affects your future. An example would be you getting a job offer from a company but turning it down because you think you lack the qualifications and the experience to perform well. You don’t ask for a raise because you’re too scared to.

This entry was posted in: Life

by

A 22 year old college student majoring in Health Science. I'm a blogger who loves to design and spends her free time seeking inspiration from magazine articles. I love blogging about relationships, and life in general. dianasadventures.wordpress.com

4 Comments

  1. I agreed with everything you’ve said. It is hard having low self esteem sometimes; even harder when you recognise it in yourself, but seem unable to change 😦

    • I know what you mean, it is easy to tell yourself all the bad things that will come out of it… but to actually change your behavior and basically your own mindset is very hard. Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

  2. concretesummer says

    Dear,,

    Hi.. please introduce myself,,I am Cho Ryeon Hwang, Asian,24 years old. I am unemployed. I have been fired from the job I was in twice. I can hardly find any other job bcs of my bad working experience on my cv.
    Since then, I realized that I am a slow learner. I was fired bcs I did mistakes for so many times and didn’t understand the instructions properly.

    Well, I have big problem with learning new thing. I used to be a very hardworker but still there always be some flaws on my work. My supervisor always mad at me like, “I’ve said it so many times!”. They did right thing. I didnt blame my previous supervisors who fired me. All I am blaming is my ability of learning and understanding.

    Because of this,I know my weakness well. This leads me to have a terrible feeling when it comes to talk to someone, I’m always getting nervous and panic when I have to explain something. That’s one of the reason why I got fired. I have bad communication skill. Why, because I am afraid if I’m doing wrong.

    Ever since the last day of my working, I haven’t applied for any job yet. I have traumatic feeling about getting fired. My mom always scold me and asking why I’m not looking for another Job. In fact, I never told this to anyone before include, (especially) my parents. I told them that my contract was terminated because I had to handle another job outside my Job desc. I didn’t tell them the honest reason.

    I can’t even share this to my bestfriends bcs they are the people I am envy with. They are the people I wish I could be. They are now having good position in their company with good salary. I feel so much intimidated when we go out for cinema or just hanging out,, they’re all proudly spending their self-earn money and sharing their working experience. Meanwhile, I am still using my parent’s money,, and the leftover money from my last salary.Things are getting harder for me when they ask what my daily activities are. In fact Im just doing nothing at home.

    I keep telling lies to everyone. I am really afraid to tell the truth and to be judged. Having myself as a slow learner has already become the most hurtful thing I have to face.

    Now I am fighting so much againts my own anxiety and low self esteem. I am so afraid what if I never get a proper job.
    I am really expecting for you to do me a favor about what to do? What am I supposed to do ?
    I am so much thankful for your help..

    Best Regards
    Cho Ryeon Hwang
    (초련황)

Leave a Reply

