bloggers, Life, Reviews
Comments 9

Making the switch to a Self – Hosted WordPress Site

& Why I switched Back

I never thought that I would post a blog post about this, but I made up my mind today at 4 A.M. that I was going to switch back to my wordpress.com site after less than a month. Yes, you heard me – less than a month! Of course, I still have my self hosted site up (as I paid for the full year). I am writing this post, not to discourage you from branching out and having your own self hosted blog , but just as a way to show you all what I learned and the Pros & Cons. 

View my self hosted site here 

Starting Stats

Followers: 264

Page Views: 20k+

Monthly views: 5K

Now, imagine losing all of that…

at the current moment:

Followers: 12

Why I wanted to self host

I was tired of the “flexibility” that wordpress.com offers. You have themes, but in order to customize they were another $30 dollars. You could buy themes, but they were about 60 – 80 (for the nice ones). If you wanted your own URL, it would also cost money. Basically, the free version wasn’t enough for me. I wanted to have beautiful blogs with all sorts of widgets that weren’t available to me on the free version. I always went on ETSY to search for beautiful themes but were surprised when they said, “You must have a self hosted wordpress to use this theme.” So, we were very limited.

Views on the Self Hosted WordPress

I remember when I first bought my domain from “BlueHost” it was very cheap, everything was. Basically, I bought the year package for about 5 dollars a month for a whole year = $60. And I exported everything from my dianasadventures.wordpress.com to my new site: dianasadventures.com . It took less than 5 minutes. After that I chose a theme and got started on posting new content.

 {PLUGINS and WIDGETS} For those of you wondering about the self hosted wordpress site: It is pretty amazing. You can choose from tons of PLUGINS: these could be widgets like Instagram, Sliders, Daily newsletters, etc. Imagine the APP store, you can literally find anything you want or need for your site. Another plugin I loved so much was the PINTEREST button.

Screenshot 2014-08-27 at 5.25.25 PM

Here is an example of what it would be like if I were to search up Instagram PlugIns.

{ THEMES } Also, you can look on the left hand side and see how the dashboard would look differenetly. I got very excited about the “MARKETPLACE” button. That means that you can look through all the themes!  There were plenty of themes to choose from that could fit your needs, and best of all (THEY WERE ALL FREE). Well, I mean there was a section for free themes and more expensive themes but you don’t need to look at the pricey ones. You could choose from 100’s of themes and you were able to customize them. 

{SUPPORT} If you ever wanted to learn how to make some changes to your themes, then don’t worry. There are plenty of support forums on wordpress.org that will show you how to change the coding. If you have customization then you can also take advantage of this also. You will have a quick response, either from a “happiness engineer” or from one of the tech savvy users!

Screenshot 2014-08-27 at 5.32.47 PM

 

That all seems great right? Wrong.

I think I would have had a better time if I started out with my own self hosted wordpress site, but I didn’t. I joined wordpress.com ; I became connected with other bloggers, and I got used to the little function at the top that said, “FOLLOW BLOG.” WordPress.com is a community, you grow a relationship with your fellow bloggers, and you can meet new ones through that handy little search tab on the right. I was not able to have the same relationship using my self hosted wordpress blog. 

None of my old followers saw my posts, even though I bought the site redirect ($13) many people read my blog when it appeared on their READER. My most popular post: Tiny Tea Detox REVIEW gets more than 150 views a day, but on the new site it only got 10 views. I suffered in views the first week and only got 5 views. 

It will be hard for others to follow you unless they are following you on BLOGLOVIN. I know many that use BLOGLOVIN, but there is nothing better to grab a cup of coffee – sit in front of your computer and read blogs directly from your reader. 

 If you have any other questions, feel free to comment below. 

This entry was posted in: bloggers, Life, Reviews

by

A 22 year old college student majoring in Health Science. I'm a blogger who loves to design and spends her free time seeking inspiration from magazine articles. I love blogging about relationships, and life in general. dianasadventures.wordpress.com

9 Comments

  1. christinajavete says

    Aw, sorry you had to go through this debacle, Diana!!
    At least now you know what’s the difference and on the other side. I’ve always wondered myself! Plus, you’re very internet and blog-savvy so if you had troubles with it, I know I would for sure! What a headache. I know this post will help many bloggers out there think and re-think their decisions on whether or not to change over to something new.

    With that being said, I’m so glad you’re back here and I can follow you and see your beautiful blog in my Reader!! ❤ =)

  2. You hit it in the head. I tell people the same thing and that honestly… a blog doesn’t have to be that pretty to gain followers as long as you are on WP directly. The audience is already here just waiting for you to connect. All the best with the rebuild!

  3. This is exactly why I hadn’t really given much consideration to making this kind of switch. I too feel like I’ve built up a community of people to interact with because we are all on the same WordPress page so to speak. I enjoy going through the reader and tags to look at other blogs and like and comment on their posts. Once in a while (especially on my phone) there are certain blogs that come up that don’t have options to comment or like or anything-not that those blogs aren’t great but I personally don’t want to put in that kind of time to figure out how to get to their site, sign in with some weird system just to make a comment, etc. I have been curious about the .com option though-not sure how that changes things compared to .org! Thanks for the helpful post 🙂

Leave a Reply

