Life, Travel
Leave a Comment

Creepy Hong Kong Adventures : Getting hit on by a landlord

Just a normal day in my life… I guess

Let me start my story from the beginning. I’m house hunting – I need to move out of this hotel as it is an hour away and into somewhere closer to my uni and friends. Prices run around 800 USD (seriously so much) for a single ROOM. So, I was excited when I found a place in Sheung Wan for 5000 HKD which is 664 USD. The room seemed pretty perfect – it was huge, had windows and looked nice. 

I ended up contacting the landlord and he asked me to message him my whatsapp to talk to each other. This is fairly normal as it’s an easier way to contact someone and I do not have a Hong Kong number. The conversation started off normal enough, he told me that the room wasn’t available for my MOVE OUT DATE, so he wasn’t able to help me then.

Then, he asked me where I was from : which I stated I was vietnamese – american ; and he mentioned he was going to Vietnam and we should go together. I told my friends but they just brushed it off saying he was just trying to be polite… this was when things got weird.

Landlord (LL): You are very sweet and nice. Also, your eyes are so beautiful.

Me: Oh, thank you lol. If your place ends up being open please contact me.

LL: I am not talking to someone who is trying to rent my place, but a friend.

Me: lol.

So, after he wished me goodnight I just shrugged it off. He was nice, but a bit creepy in my opinion but my friends didn’t see him as a threat so I let it go.

LL: I was able to find you a room with my friend, but you would have to share a room with a male is that okay?

Me: No thank you.

LL: I will look for places for you, because that is what friends do. 

LL: I found a place for you, near Central. It is within walking distance to my work, so I can visit you often.

Me: Oh, can I have the address? And the name of the contact?

He ended up not giving me the address but arranging an appointment with the landlord to view it the next day.

Why did I go to see the place? Of course, I was not going to stay there because he would have known where I would live ; but he had already gone through the trouble of setting it up and I didn’t want him to lose face by not going through with the appointment. There was the other landlord involved now, so I asked a friend to go with me. My friend ended up getting terribly sick and was not able to go with me last minute… so luckily I had another friend who was in the area at the time.

Day of the Viewing

He was much younger than I thought he would be and polite. I didn’t get any creepy vibes from him at all and we had a good conversation. We ended up seeing the place, which was nice but a bit small and too far from the MTR. I thought this would be the end of our meetup until it came time to leave.

LL: Oh, did you have lunch yet? Let’s grab lunch together.

Me: Oh, sorry I already ate… I am actually meeting my friend. He is taking me to another agent (a lie I made on the spot).

LL: *looks visibly upset* But I thought we would at least get lunch together… tell your friend to wait an hour or so. 

Me: I can’t, he went out of his way to get me this appointment.

LL: I am worried if we don’t hang out today we won’t have a chance to hang out at all. 

I tried to ask him to take me to a station so my friend could meet with me, but he kept on putting it off and I was worried that I would not end up at a station at all. I tried to text my friend but I didn’t know where I was and LL kept on looking at my texts so I was getting more scared by the minute. Finally, after some silence from him and me asking multiple times which MTR we were going to – he finally said C and I texted my friend to quickly come get me.

We arrived at the MTR, and when he saw my friend he said goodbye and left. After that, I blocked him. 

This entry was posted in: Life, Travel
Tagged with: , , , , ,

by

A 22 year old college student majoring in Health Science. I'm a blogger who loves to design and spends her free time seeking inspiration from magazine articles. I love blogging about relationships, and life in general. dianasadventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

