Food, Reviews, Rome, Travel
Comments 3

Chocolate Dipped Gelato in Rome

IMG_2398

 

Gelateria Frigidarium

Via del Governo Vecchio, 112, 00186 Roma, Italy

After the borghese gallery, my sister told me that there was an amazing gelato place that she wanted to take me to. Of course, I was super excited but at the same time pretty iffy. We had already found our favorite gelato place! What could be better? But, trusting tripadvisor, we decided to stop by since it was close to our hotel and the center. 

 

IMG_2394

This gelato place had a lot of good things going for it. Not only was in a popular area and near plenty of shops, it was also attractive outside and we noticed quite a few people waiting outside also. There was a young guy working in the front and he was very friendly, even smiling when I went to take a photo of all the delicious flavors. Thanks for not judging me! Unlike the other place that we visited in the beginning, he didn’t seem angry or irritated when I asked for a free sample so that was a plus.

IMG_2396

It was only 2.50€ and I was about to eat my gelato when he asked, “Do you guys want to dip it in white chocolate or just regular chocolate?” I turned around with a huge smile on my face and said, “Chocolate please!” While my sister opted for the white chocolate. He happily did his magic, while I waited patiently for our dessert.

IMG_2399

IMG_2401

 Big Mistake! At first it seemed like a good idea; we both happily licked our hardened gelato when it suddenly begin to melt and an increasingly high rate. Now, eating it became a challenge. Pretty soon, we just gave up and we threw away the shell. I never thought I would say this… but I was getting tired of the chocolate!

I thought that while the shell was a great option, I don’t think I would get it again. I think it was messy as the gelato began to drip around the sides, and it got tiring trying to get to the good part. The gelato wasn’t that great either and I really do think it is overhyped! 

3 Comments

  1. That looks amazing, it’s too bad it didn’t live up to the hype. 😒

    On another note, I’ve nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award!!! ❤️ Check out my latest post for the details, lady. And thank you for being so awesome. You were my first follower and person to reach out to me. I appreciate you and all of your support.

Leave a Reply

