Travel, vietnam
Comments 6

Welcome to the Cu Chi Tunnels!

cuchitunnels

Cu Chi Tunnels 

One of the places that Brandon really wanted to visit were the Cu Chi Tunnels. My mother didn’t want us to visit the tunnels because she said it was too far, but it was one of the best days I had in Vietnam – we both learned so much! We started the day by renting a car (thankfully one of my uncles knows how to drive a car in VN – its all stick shift) and we started on the journey.

11714330_10207344842688673_1730175170_n 11721992_10207344842568670_1826703107_n 11736907_10207344842648672_1408713051_n

We stopped by this little pho shop and Brandon had his first and only bowl of pho in Vietnam! It only cost 1 USD for this bowl of pho, and it tasted great! I didn’t have any because I was still full from having broken rice heh. Why did he have just one bowl of pho during his whole stay in VN? We actually spent most of our days eating bun bo hue (but that’s for another day)!

After driving for an hour and a half, we finally got to our destination..

The great thing about this place was that it was only 1 USD ! We opted for the 2 dollar option which included the tour of the tunnels AND the tour of the museum/ war zone. 

We spent about 10 minutes walking around the front of the museum and took photos next to the tanks and the jets. It was uncomfortable walking around because it must have been like 120 degrees in vietnam, I was seriously dying with each step haha. 

We finally made our way to the ticket counter and each bought a ticket. We were assigned a tour guide, who was very friendly and patient. He asked me to translate for Brandon and made sure to talk slowly so I could have time to translate all of the information.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We were led to an outdoor room (?) and were able to watch a video. Since most of my family had already come here (it’s very popular for field trips) we were able to watch it in English. In case you guys don’t know the Cu Chi Tunnels were where the American soldiers and the vietnamese soldiers would fight. The vietnamese were able to live in the tunnels for many years, undetected. They were able to build schools under the tunnels, conference rooms, medical centers, resting rooms, etc and even build their own water irrigation systems. They were also able to build an oxygen line so they would be able to live and sleep in the tunnels without feeling suffocated. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Brandon was very impressed and I felt a deep sense of pride. We both learned a lot from the video, though my parents were afraid Brandon might feel insulted since he is American and it’s the Vietnam – American war.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

During the tour, we saw people from all over the world. The girl next to us was from Singapore, and people behind us were from England. It was great to see so many people come visit the Cu Chi Tunnels since we rarely saw any foreigners in our area.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Climbing Down the Tunnels 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

.See that little hole? Our tour guide actually fit in there! 

The best part about the tunnels were how we were able to go down the tunnels ourselves. Now, some people don’t want to go down the tunnels (I was scared) but you should just do it! They made the tunnels bigger for tours. I was already feeling cramped down there, so can you just imagine how much smaller it was for the vietnamese soliders? My aunt told me she went down the tunnels when she was a child and most people cried and begged to go up since it was too suffocating.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Our tour guide gave us a demonstration, he went down the hole and came up on the other side!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here is brandon standing next to him, and probably wondering if we would have to go down that same hole + don’t worry, we went down!.

How does it look like once you’re down the tunnel? 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The first tunnel we went down, was the military health bunker.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here I am behind my cousin haha. See how large the tunnels are? They look larger in photos, but you have to crouch down and Brandon had to crawl!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

There are some tunnels that are a mile long, but the ones we went to were only 300 feet or so.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We were able to see some traps that the vietnamese set for the American soliders.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Wouldn’t want to fall in that now would we?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

There were all sorts of traps, but I don’t want to spam you guys with too many photos!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After our tour , we were able to stop for some snacks! I don’t know what these are called in English but in Vietnam they are very popular and my mom makes some for me at home.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

There was also fresh tea, that Brandon poured for everyone. My family kept on saying it was the best tea they had haha.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We were even given the opportunity to wash our hands from this Bamboo water fountain !! 

Anyway, I’ll be back with some photos of the museum and warzones for you guys to see (I think, I got tired of lugging around my camera). But,  i have a whole post on just food! Did you know you could survive on just 3 dollars for food in VN? even less if you know where to go! 

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER , I’LL FOLLOW BACK 🙂 

Also, I made a new twitter, follow me here @thecoffeedate if you guys are wondering why I  changed the name – it’s because I’m making a seperate blog just for blogging tips & marketing tips! More on that in the future.

>>>>>>> @thecoffeedate <<<<<<

6 Comments

  1. That’s amazingly awesome! I’m American and I’m not insulted either. Terrible things happen in war on all sides. Anyways, it looks like you guys had a ton of fun and I can’t even begin to explain how excited I am for the food post!!! (And I would’ve had more pho in Vietnam personally 😉 )

  2. WoW this looks amazing! Thanks for sharing your story! I’d love to visit Vietnam one day!

Leave a Reply

