Amsterdam, Travel
Comments 7

Heineken Experience, Amsterdam

Heineken Experience

Heineken Experience !

Stadhouderskade 78, 1072 AE Amsterdam,The Netherlands

Cost: 18 Euros

I’m not much of a museum person, I went to the Picasso museum in France and just didn’t have a fun time. I don’t know why… but I just don’t ever seem to have a great time. So, the Heineken experience was one of the only things I was looking forward to, other than the Anne Frank Museum. 

We ended up coming here after seeing the Amsterdam Signs, and because it was rainy it was the perfect time! Luckily, the line wasn’t long at all so we were able to see the exhibit after just waiting about 10 minutes.

The guy at the front forgot to give us our wristbands but thankfully, my friend caught it right before we went inside so we were able to grab our wristbands. Don’t forget your wristbands, it entitles you to 2 drinks at the bar.  

I really had such a great time at this exhibit – it was pretty big. This is basically the floorplan of what you go through, the first part is mostly learning about the history behind Heineken, which was done in a pretty interesting way. Lots of photos + also had some employees who would interact with guests.

We learned how beer is made + then entered the brewing room where we got to take photos with various props. There were also employees serving samples.

  

After hearing an employee talk about how there are 5 horses on site, we entered the “ride”. It was a pretty fun “ride”. Basically, you go inside a room and stand while the floor moves around, sort of like Shrek 3D but without seats. We were basically beer, and were getting made + brewed if that makes sense lol. The ride lasts around 4 minutes or 5 (I think) and we were off to the tasting room!

In the tasting room, there were two tables lined up and an employee explained why there’s foam at the top of the beer. He + another employee then poured everyone in the room a beer, but not before reassuring everyone that this was “only a mini taste, the next 2 beers will be full sized.” Then showed us how to properly enjoy beer – you’re not supposed to sip it, you’re supposed to take a big gulp of it (if you sip it, then you only get the bitter taste and not the sweet taste!). I’m not a big fan of beer, so I tried my best to chug down the mini beer. 

This was where the fun started! We left the taste room and entered a room where we were able to bottle our own Heineken. So I bottled Brandon one, (with his full name!) that only cost about 6 euros – the best souvenir ever! And we didn’t have to carry it throughout the exhibit since it would be ready for pickup at the end of our visit.

The rest of the exhibit felt more like a nightclub. I loved the environment, the music was great and we traveled through each floor to see what they had. There were great props such as these Heinecken bottle lights, and games that we could play.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We finally got the “bar” where everyone was lined up to get their two beers. So basically, everyone had a bracelet and on the bracelet there are two buttons, give your button to the bartender and you’re able to get your beer! The line moved surprisingly fast, and we were able to stand and sip our beer on one of the many tables scattered about.

I asked Vicky if she wanted my second beer but she didn’t, so I offered it to an older couple and they said 2 was already enough for them! So, I finally found someone to take the last beer off my hands. I know, how sad. 

There’s also a rooftop bar, and the bartender told us that we are able to go there! So Vicky had her last beer on top of the bar.  There were plenty of booths, and we met some nice people on the way to the top (probably since everyone was getting drunk). It started raining, so we left after she finished her beer and went home. 
View from the rooftop bar!

Anyway, hope you guys enjoyed this post! Stay tuned for the video – I filmed the bartenders pouring our drinks and also the rooftop bar 🙂

7 Comments

      • So glad that there are others out there like me. lol My first taste of beer I thought I was going to throw up.

      • Nope. Everyone keeps telling me to try different things. I don’t like the alcohol and anything alcoholic I can taste it. Sensitive taste buds…lol It’s all horrible if you ask me.

  1. Pingback: August Love List | The Cutie Life

  2. While I love wine, rum, tequila, and the occasional vodka (as long as they’re sweet!), I cannot, for the life of me, drink beer. That being said, it looks like you had a fabulous time! The ride sounds like it would be an interesting one, especially after a couple of drinks. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed your time!

Leave a Reply

